hello new to Los Angels

If you're new to autocross, new to the forum or need a hand with what class you should be in, ask for help here.

Moderators: Mike Simanyi, Leonard Cachola

silvio zucchet

hello new to Los Angels

Post by silvio zucchet »

hello,
my name is silvio
I'm new to los angeles scca, i have a few questions. I have been auto x for about 3 years in Sacramento and Reno regions. i usually drive a bsp Subaru sti (i believe is asp now) I ran my car at 1 auto x this year and i spun a bearing (still in the rebuilding proses but that's another story). i just acquired a 94 miata and i want to use it for auto x instead of the Subaru. I dont want to run in stock class but i don't want to run in a crazy moded class, what would be a good class for me? is there like a st class that i can run street tire for 94 miata? please point me in the right direction and i hope to meet you all next season :)

edit: i just saw the class question thread. in my defense i have read the rule book and I'm wondering on local classes and don't know if you guy have a street tire class
Last edited by silvio zucchet on Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
smooth is fast
Q V
Solo Safety Steward
Club: SCNAX
Car#: 69

Re: hello new to Los Angels

Post by Q V »

STS is your class.

check SCCA.com's rule book for full details.

Welcome to So Cal.
Jeff Stuart
King of Fastrack!
Club: CASOC
Car#: 13

Post by Jeff Stuart »

Or if the car is stock and you're just trying to keep tire costs down you can run in RTR (Road Tire RWD), which is now the national standard "street tire stock" class. All the rules of stock class with a minimum 140 treadwear limit.
Nic Sanchez
Club: No$
Car#: 67

Post by Nic Sanchez »

Hey Silvio,

Currently in ES we are running on street tires, gentlemen agreement., and I believe we will continue in 2013.

Nic
Ed Holley
Car#: 912

Post by Ed Holley »

Nic Sanchez wrote:Hey Silvio,