New SCCA member and AutoX novice, need advice

If you're new to autocross, new to the forum or need a hand with what class you should be in, ask for help here.

Moderators: Mike Simanyi, Leonard Cachola

Aaron Kinney

New SCCA member and AutoX novice, need advice

Post by Aaron Kinney »

Hello everybody!

My name is Aaron Kinney and I live in Los Angeles. I joined the SCCA last year and am interested in autocrossing at the Auto Club Speedway in Fontana. I've done lots of drag racing but I'm a total noob when it comes to the twisties. My modification list is long and I'm not sure which class(es) I qualify for. Any help classing my car and general tips/advice would be greatly appreciated. Car details below.

2001 Ford Mustang GT Coupe
4.6 liter SOHC V8
5-speed manual

Suspension mods:
Tubular K member
Tubular A arms
Front coilover kit
Urethane swaybar bushings
Caster/camber plates
Bumpsteer Kit
Subframe connectors welded in
Adjustable upper & lower rear control arms w/ spherical bushings
"Battle Box" Torque box reinforcements welded in
H&R Race rear springs
Single adjustable shocks/struts all around

Engine & Drivetrain mods:
Trick Flow Twisted Wedge 185 cylinder heads w/ MHS stage 3 cams
Cobra high volume oil pump
Aluminum intake manifold
75mm throttle body & 90mm MAF
300 lph fuel pump w/ 34 lb injectors
MSD Coil on Plugs
Underdrive pulleys
Long Tube headers, H pipe, & 2.5" dual exhaust
Short throw shifter
RAM HD clutch
Adjustable clutch cable
Aluminum driveshaft
Detroit TrueTrac differential
4.10 rear gear ratio
Dyno tuned to 313hp & 278tq at the rear wheels on 91 octane pump gas

Other mods:
Corbeau fixed-back seats
Battery relocated to trunk w/ closed aluminum box (NHRA legal)
External battery cutoff switch mounted on rear (NHRA legal)
Mishimoto high capacity radiator
Autometer A/F wideband gauge, Aeroforce multigauge w/ oil temp & pres, water temp, voltage, and shift light

Front brakes:
Stock calipers, stock rotors w/ HAWK street pads

Rear brakes: