New to AutoX // Car classing question

If you're new to autocross, new to the forum or need a hand with what class you should be in, ask for help here.

Moderators: Mike Simanyi, Leonard Cachola

Jacob Abrams
Car#: 728

New to AutoX // Car classing question

Post by Jacob Abrams »

Hey All,

I'm new to AutoX and just got into racing a few months ago. I bought a BMW M2 performance edition recently to turn into a dedicated track day car.

I've signed up for the event this Sunday and put down the car under B street classing wise since it is still stock. However, a friend of mine pointed out that my car not even qualify for B street because it's a limited edition car with performance modifications over the regular model M2. While it may be stock to me, other M2 owners wouldn't see it that way (at least I assume).

So which class should I be racing in this weekend? Moving forward I plan on doing a large number of modifications, ranging from adding camber plates to a front splitter, spoiler, turbo mods, chipping it, etc. What class would that put it in, street modified? Are there any limitations in that class I might run into, or any requirements I may not be aware of? I've skimmed the classing rules, but I've been too busy with work to really dig deep and make sense of it all.

Thanks for any feedback and help getting started.

Jacob
Reed Gibson
Current CSCC Overall Champion
Club: SCNAX

Re: New to AutoX // Car classing question

Post by Reed Gibson »

Seeing as you plan on running extensive mods we'd recommend running in our California Street Tire (CST) class. This is kind of a catch-all class for people with modified cars as the rules basically only require it to be street legal and have street tires! Unless you want to make a serious campaign at national events this is your best option to compete locally without having to dig through the nitty gritty rules of any Street Mod classes.