Cal Club grid process could use tweaking...

General discussions about Solo

Moderator: Mike Simanyi

James Yom
Current Solo Director
Car#: 28

Cal Club grid process could use tweaking...

Post by James Yom »

So after having run Cal Club for a while, I find myself wondering why we do grid the way we do here?

-It's really confusing becuase most of the time I have no idea when my run sequence is, whether I am a single driver or a multi driver.

-many times, I end up coming back to grid in a different spot. It's annoying becuase then I have to run around and find my gear that was at a different grid spot, and I also have to maneuver around other people's stuff in my "new" spot.

-I have to get my car ready to go earlier if I'm at the end of a "line", becuase I have to slowly start creeping up the line as cars are sent ahead of me.

-many times, I think even the grid person loses the sequence of when the two driver cars should go because it is so confusing!!!

Why can't we use a simplified system of the way we do Nationals grid? We did it like that in Chicago region, and IMO it's a much better way to run grid.

We made one long grid, cars on both sides facing each other in a herring bone arrangement like this:

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\

///////////////////////////////////////

when cars pull out for their runs, they pull forward and go down the middle of the lane towards the start. All the two driver cars would grid at the front of the line on one side. What this allows is for several things:
-we come back to our own grid spot.
-we don't have to run around looking for our stuff in grid in between runs.
-MUCH easier to identify when you will run, and how many cars before you have to go.
-easy to figure out what the proper sequencing should be for two driver cars (look halfway down the single driver line, and start the second drivers then).