Some open discussion on run formats

For coordinating upcoming events and remembering past ones.

Moderators: Mike Simanyi, Christine Grice, Rick Brown

Joel Payne
Club: CASOC
Car#: 311

Some open discussion on run formats

Post by Joel Payne »

Hi y'all,

Joel Payne here. I'm the guy with the white v8 powered rx7. I'm still relatively new to autocross but I've come out to ~6 practice events now and wanted to start some dialog about the pros and cons of various run formats. Disclaimer: To date I've ONLY come out to practice days because this is my first relatively high HP car and I'm mostly here to have fun and learn to drive. I’m not particularly worried about competition because the different motor puts me in some pretty hardcore classes anyways.

Let me start by saying there's an awful lot to like about the SoCal region's way of running things. On net I’m really happy. Courses are usually fantastic. People are helpful and events are well run in terms of camaraderie and rooting for peers. There's also a strong focus on being safe while having fun (awesome). That said, I do have a few points of constructive criticism that I thought I'd offer up…

By far my top priority at a practice event is seat time and run formats alter this drastically. At the last practice on Dec 11, I have to admit that I was a little disappointed to only get 12 runs via the pre-determined run format. Given we finished early it would have been nice to have put in a few extra laps but I recognize that’s not quite fair to those stuck out working the course. Compare that to the practice on 10/23 where work groups were defined by time rather than lap count and I put in a whopping 23 runs :!: (come 4:30 there were only about 8 cars left taking laps so it seems everyone got their fill).

In addition to seat time, the other things I see folks placing value during practice are the following:
-Time to cool down tires (matters less to me but I know this is very important for others)