April 23, 2017 Event Recap

For coordinating upcoming events and remembering past ones.

Moderators: Mike Simanyi, Christine Grice, Rick Brown

Post Reply
Lauren Kane Porta
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:45 am

April 23, 2017 Event Recap

Post by Lauren Kane Porta » Mon May 08, 2017 1:39 pm

Cal Club Autocross April 23, 2017 Recap

Fontana, CA – With many Cal Club Autocross members competing in Northern California at the 2017 Tirerack Crows Landing ProSolo the same day, the fourth event of the 2017 season witnessed a smaller-than-normal crowd at Auto Club Speedway, but still showcased plenty of great driving and fun times.

Two classes were decided by the slimmest of margins: Jason Swindle beat co-driver Casey Quinn in C Modified by .041, and Chris Holmes bested Mitch Metling in D Street by .056. Sean Fenstermacher took third in the eight-person class with Robert Nickel earning fourth place honors.

In A Street, Randy Gonzalez led wire-to-wire in the four-driver class and utilized a fast second run of 71.186 to best Danny Castillo by 1.5 seconds. Tom Tanquary and Mihail Milkov took home first and second place honors respectively in B Street, with Tanquary earning the .483 victory.

Michael Parker improved his times in each subsequent run, holding off Thomas Smith to win G Street by almost half a second. Tom Frecentese won C Street by a full second, while Myles Wakayama likewise won F Street by 1.3 seconds. Silvio Zucchet came out on top in H Street by 1.6 seconds, while George White won Super Stock R by 1.7 seconds.

Julian Manolov stood on his second run to win the five-driver Street Mod Combined class (made up of SSM, SM, and CSM), besting Marco Cruz by 1.4 seconds. Jonathan Hartendorp laid down a fast third run to win California Street Touring by 1.2 seconds over Julius Bernardo, while Michael Bradley came in third and Scott Hanson finished fourth.

Bob Endicott won Street Touring Roadster by 2.8 seconds while Stanley Kowalski earned a 2.4 second win in Prepared Combined, and Sam Mouradian won Street Touring Sport by 4.6 seconds. In the Classic American Muscle classes, Greg Nelson won CAM-C by nearly three seconds, Jordan Wilkins won CAM-S by 5.7 seconds, and Michael Cuthbertson won CAM-T by almost 15 seconds.

Cal Club Autocross returns to Auto Club Speedway in Fontana for the May 20 practice and May 21 event.
Cal Club Autocross April 23 recap.pdf
(49.02 KiB) Downloaded 63 times

Post Reply