Rear spoiler angles for autocross...

General discussions about Solo

Moderator: Mike Simanyi

Roy Butler
Club: CASOC
Car#: 216

Rear spoiler angles for autocross...

Post by Roy Butler »

I'm new to autocross - been to a few BMW CCA events and have started coming to local SCCA events. I've noticed a handful of vehicles with rear spoilers having extremely sharp angles-of-attack; some 45 degrees and up. I spoke with someone about it at a CASOC practice about two months ago and they were telling me how at the speeds we get to in autocross (<60mph), it's all good. Taking the same car set-up at 100mph would probably give way too much downforce or turbulance in the rear.

I'm sorry for being a aerodynamics noob, but could others give me their opinion on this? It's kind of glam, but is something like the TVR Sagaris rear spoiler completely useless at all speeds or is it possible through wind-tunnel testing they found something that such a sharp angle could help with?

http://www.cartype.com/images/page/tvr- ... eartop.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

BTW, I think I realize that I could spend a couple of year developing driving skill in a way that would completely outperform slight aero-mods. That's a given and I will proceed. :) I'm addicted to practicing and learning F/R balance in turns - I'm just asking if such angles-of-attack, especially in the case of a spoiler only a couple of inches high, can have any justification at all.

Thanks for any input,
Roy
DFtrac adjustable rear swaybar (335i coupe)
http://www.gambitmotorsport.com/rearswaybar.html
Mako Koiwai
Club: SCNAX
Car#: 34

Re: Rear spoiler angles for autocross...

Post by Mako Koiwai »

That's some car!

There is of course a big difference between wings and air dams ... I'll let the experts chime in on that.

Cam Correa
Club: Team Blew
Car#: 306

Post by Cam Correa »

Just curious as a fellow Newbie, what class are you looking to run?
I plan to run stock, so I really have no options here. :|