Future of CST??

General discussions about Solo

Moderator: Mike Simanyi

Jim Cuba

Future of CST??

Post by Jim Cuba »

Hello, I am new to racing with you guys. Yesterday (3/7/2021) was my first event with the SoCal SCCA. It was a blast. BTW, I raced my old Porsche 914 with the HIST guys.

I am not new to AutoX, just new to your group.

I have been "lurking" the Cal Club forums for 3-4 years and was so excited about this CST class.... Street legal cars, unlimited mods, 200 TW tires... What a blast!!

Yesterday I was "working" while the CST class running, and saw some of the most exciting and competitive runs of the day.

Sixteen cars running in this class yesterday, and now I hear the class may possibly be going away. Is this a good idea for newcomers just trying to find a home? I know there are XS classes coming, but these classes add extra layers of complexity.

Can we save CST and keep it for a "catch all"?

I am ready to race CST!! :D
Reed Gibson
Current CSCC Overall Champion
Club: SCNAX

Re: Future of CST??

Post by Reed Gibson »

You are correct, the current plan is to retire CST in exchance for Xtreme Street (XS-A/B). There are very few cars that would not be able to compete in either of the XS classes which separated by weight class and has a very open rule book. That being said every single car currently racing in CST would be eligible for XS.

The current exclusion list of cars are all in the supercar territory "Acura NSX; Audi R8; Ferrari (all); Ford GT; Lamborghini (all); Lotus 7 (all including clones); McLaren (all); Porsche 911 (all w/liquid-cooled engines)" with the exception of the 911 which are unlikely to be heavily modified outside of any existing SCCA class.