Help on Flash files...

Read at your own risk.

Moderator: Mike Simanyi

Vincent Wong
Club: PSCC
Car#: 107

Help on Flash files...

Post by Vincent Wong »

Well, I don't need help on modifying them, but I just need some info on what is needed to modify an existing Flash file (which I probably don't have access to).

Due to the economy, my company has downsized a lot. I'm the only Engineer in the company, and my responsibility is, well, Engineering. Since the downsizing, I have already taken up duties on Warranty, Parts, Technical Support, and some Sales & Marketing BS. The time spent on Engineering is almost zero now. My boss now is asking me to maintain a freaking website, which is completely out of my area, and I have zero knowledge on Flash whatsoever. I just want some info and hopefully go back to him saying it's not an easy task, and I have no time to learn that sh*t during work hours. And I obviously will not have time to learn it in my own time with twins coming in couple of weeks.

Thanks very much.
Kristoffer Gjevre

Re: Help on Flash files...

Post by Kristoffer Gjevre »

I have no clue about Flash development either, other than that Apple think it is buggy on the Mac and does not support it on the iPhone and iPad, but lots of interesting info here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adobe_Flash" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Q V
Solo Safety Steward
Club: SCNAX
Car#: 69

Post by Q V »

If the files you have to modify are ".swf" files, then it is definitely not worth your time.

Last time I had to do that was about 8-10 years ago, so maybe they have better programs now. What you are looking for is an "swf decompiler". It's not going to look pretty. And if you don't know Flash in the first place, it's going to look like the first day I came out for a ride-a-long @ autox, i.e. sea of cones.

If you can access the actual source ".fla" files, then it just depends on what you are modifying (just text, image placement, or full blown actionscript, etc).